RIO RANCHO, N.M.—The City of Rio Rancho’s Runoff Election for District 3 City Councilor is April 12, 2022.

On the ballot are the following candidates:

  • Bob Tyler
  • Joshua Antonio Jones

Runoff Election Day Voting

Voters on Runoff Election Day (April 12) are able to cast their ballot at the following voting convenience centers. Voting convenience center locations on Election Day are open from 7:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.

  • Broadmoor Senior Center (Clerk’s Annex), 3241 Broadmoor Blvd
  • Plaza @ Enchanted Hills, 7845 Enchanted Hills Blvd, Suite 100

In order to vote on Election Day, an individual must be a Rio Rancho registered voter of City Council District 3 and present one current identification card containing their name and photograph.

Early Voting and same-day voter registration, at the locations listed above, are open and available through April 9. For Early Voting hours, please visit

Return an Absentee Ballot

Completed Absentee Ballots must be returned no later than 7:00 p.m. on Runoff Election Day, April 12, 2022 to:

  • either Election Day Location, or
  • to the City Clerk’s Office, 3200 Civic Center Circle NE, Suite 150

An Absentee Ballot may also be mailed back to the City Clerk’s Office using the Official Return Envelope, which includes pre-paid return postage. All ballots must be received by the City Clerk no later than 7:00 p.m. on April 12, 2022 to be counted, so please mail it back with enough time for it to arrive by the due date. Returned Absentee Ballots must be signed and include a copy of the voters photo identification to be qualified.

Election Results

As soon as possible, following the voting convenience center locations closing at 7:00 p.m. on Runoff Election Day, unofficial results will be listed on the City’s website ( and posted outside the Office of the City Clerk at Rio Rancho City Hall. The April 12 unofficial election results and canvass report will be presented for approval to the Sandoval County canvassing board by the Rio Rancho City Clerk on Monday, April 18, 2022 at 1:30 p.m.


The newly elected City Councilor will be sworn-in on April 28, 2022 and officially take office on May 1, 2022. More details about the swearing-in are forthcoming. 

For more information about the Runoff Election, please visit